Howdy y'all, been a while since I posted. As usual, I've got an odd question centered on unclear mechanics.
Last night my players faced off against 2 shadow dragons (MM2, pg 58 I think.) The dragons employed their breath weapon, a cloud of black smoke which has the ability to temporarily energy drain victims caught within for either 1/2 or 3/4th their levels depending on the save vs Breath Weapon.
One of the characters possess a Scarab of Protection (DMG pg 154.) While this wonderful item usually negates energy drain in exchange for a 1-1 ratio of charges, due to the character's high level this would suck the Scarab dry, and furthermore there's added complexity as this is only temporary drain, which the book of course has no info about (Temporary Energy Drain is also present in the Basic Creature Catalog via Agarats, so it had already existed by then.)
I ruled the Scarab ineffective and unaffected vs the temporary drain, the player (A DM in his own right) says he thinks it should have negated the temporary drain since it can negate the permanent stuff. What's y'all's opinion on this?